NOTE:  Persons who arrive under the Visa Waiver Program CANNOT work or study.


The visa waiver pilot program allows the citizens of specific countries to enter the United States to visit without first obtaining a visa. Citizens of the following countries are eligible for the visa waiver:

Andorra, Austria, Australia, Belgium, Brunei, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Iceland, Ireland, Italy, Japan, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, San Marino, Singapore, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, and The United Kingdom*.


*For citizens with the unrestricted right of permanent abode in England, Scotland, Wales, Northern Ireland, the Channel Islands, and the Isle of Man.


Citizens (NOT residents) of the above countries qualify for the Visa Waiver Program if:

  • They have a valid passport issued by their home country
  • They stay in the U.S. for less then 90 days and hold a round-trip ticket
  • They have enough funds to support themselves for the duration of their stay


Visitors who arrive under the Visa Waiver Program will fill out and sign the visa waiver arrival/departure card (green I-94W) at the port of entry. Visitors will be allowed to stay for up to 90 days, which is noted on the I-94W card. Extension of stay or change to any other visa status is not permissible under any circumstances.


NOTE:  Persons who arrive under the Visa Waiver Program CANNOT work or study.


Contact Us

Talk with an immigration advisor:

Phone: +1 (540) 231-8486
Fax: +1 (540) 231-3714

Mailing Address:

International Graduate Student Services
Graduate Life Center
155 Otey St. NW
Virginia Tech
Blacksburg, VA 24061

Follow us on Facebook

Walk-in Advising Hours

Monday Wednesday & Friday
1 p.m. - 4 p.m.

Tuesday & Thursday
9 a.m. - 12 p.m.